I don’t do this often, but I must retract my previous comment about Pete Stephenson, the Big Brother 7 housemate that has Tourette’s. The launch night of Big Brother is a very huge event, having to walk out into a crowd of hundreds, probably millions more watching you on TV is a very brave thing to do. You have to build up an immediate persona and say “This is me, these are my qualities, please vote for me to win”. In every person this takes a lot of andrenaline and the reaction of a crowd can be very nerve-wrecking. As I’ve watched the show, live and edited these past 3 days, my views on Pete have changed. I branded him a “fake attention seeker” far too quickly, and now see him as a very brave, true and honest man. Someone who is trying to overcome their disability to live a normal life. If he does not find the strain of Big Brother too hard I will be voting for him to win in the final week. Go Pete!!!

About tomsbrain

The central hub of all things Thomas McNab - a 30-year-old Yorkshire-born writer and filmmaker, living with a disability, and medicating himself with obscene amounts of films, television, and amateur wordplay. Find out more at http://tomsbrain.2ya.com.

Posted on May 22, 2006, in Big Brother, Old Posts. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

