Not Quite Hollywood and Black Ice

Catch-up Reviews from the Leeds Film Festival! Okay, so, yesterday I wrapped up my mammoth long film festival marathon with Not Quite Hollywood: The Wild, Untold Story of Ozploitation. It was the only documentary I’m going to see this year and, without seeing any of the others that were in the festival, I can confidently say it was the best! If you’re a fan of Kill Bill or Halloween or Saw you’ll appreciate seeing this. I also think I can put that invitation out there to those of you who are fans of Eli Roth’s first films and, obviously, any fans of Wolf Creek. The “film” actually works cos it kind of has three acts; it starts out with the nudie films, the first real Ausie exploitation films, explaining, albeit a small bit, why they came about in the early 70s. Act two discusses the gore flicks, and here is where my interest peaked. My mind was opened up to lots of new and potentially exciting films from across the other ocean. Through a little bit of online digging I’ve found out they’ve actually started releasing Ozploitation Volumes of DVDs in Region 4 – so I may have to get some, if not all of those. The film rounded off with a look at Outback car chases, stunts and generally craziness. As a whole the film was very good, edited beautifully. It just lacked a little on the solid facts (a little like this blog – Tom) and actually probably won’t appeal to everyone (as I heard one irate European express on the way out, it didn’t really give reasons of justification to the girls exploited, it just kind of glorified it – she was very angry)!

So, back track to Monday night, and you’ll remember I went to see Parting Shot and Black Ice. On reflection Parting Shot was a lot better than two of the four films I went to see yesterday. But Black Ice has so far been my highlight, in terms of actually feature filmness (57,000km Between Us was almost indie in its own rights, cinema verite, as I called it). The film is essentially a Finnish Cruel Intentions with twenty-somethings instead of high school students. But it becomes so much more than that as it progresses and almost becomes surrealism by the end, with a twist that would make the later Saw films blush with embarrassment. There’s nothing I can really say bad about Black Ice, I’m just going to tangent off and share with you my thoughts on who would play Sara in the remake (Maggie Gyllenhaal), and petition Film4 to show this! If they had their little spin-off channel still they would! Okay, so it may become a little too far fetched for some, but I loved it. It’s certainly not fantasy! There’s nothing fictional about its content. It’s still a black drama at heart, but it just gets a little out-there when it wants you to believe some of the actions of its characters.

I’m going to end my journey into festivals this year with what I hope turns out to be my best day: Return of the Dead! Four back-to-back bloody films – My Name Is Bruce, Deadgirl, Dance of the Dead and Tokyo Gore Police. But for the reviews, you’ll have to wait till next week.

About tomsbrain

The central hub of all things Thomas McNab - a 30-year-old Yorkshire-born writer and filmmaker, living with a disability, and medicating himself with obscene amounts of films, television, and amateur wordplay. Find out more at http://tomsbrain.2ya.com.

Posted on November 13, 2008, in Leeds Film Festival, Posts. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

