What is your Damage, Veronica?!

I’m having a little trouble trying to figure out why the hell it has taken so long for The Veronicas to crack America. Their album, one of the best albums I’ve ever heard, was released over a YEAR AGO, yet only now has their second single from Hook Me Up, Untouched, made an impact in America (so far reaching #17 on the Billboard Hot 100). I saw the twins, Jessica and Lisa Origliasso, on E! News this morning and I’m really happy for them. I’d never heard of them until their song 4Ever popped up on the soundtrack for the Amanda Bynes flick She’s The Man. It may have been before that when I found out they had been part of the team behind t.A.T.u’s 2005 comeback hit All About Us (check out their, some might say, better sounding demo via YouTube). Then, in September of 2007, my awareness of them sparked, I saw their debut video from their second album, Hook Me Up, on YouTube. Initially I was hostile! Confused at their almost t.A.T.u-esque relationship displayed in the video… despite being sisters! But then I got my hands on some tracks from the album (my other recommendations:  Take Me On The Floor (2nd Single), Popular, Revenge Is Sweeter (Than You Ever Were), I Can’t Stay AwayGoodbye to You) and all was forgiven, falling instantly in love with Untouched and eagerly anticipating the video (which, ultimately, I was let down by and wish they’d re-shot now it’s getting airplay).

So now, over 14 months later, that video and single is ready to drop over here in Britian, and I thought I’d use this opportunity to remind you that I actually mashed up Untouched last year, and it’s one of my favourite mash ups, but unfortunately due to the lock-down WMG has on YouTube I can’t make a video for it. So you’ll just have to make do with the audio…

The Veronicas vs. a-ha - Untouched On Me
The Veronicas vs. a-haUntouched On Me

It sort of makes me slightly hopeful that despite not setting the world on fire initially, perhaps t.A.T.u’s Happy Smiles / You and I era will eventually see it’s time to shine.

About tomsbrain

The central hub of all things Thomas McNab - a 30-year-old Yorkshire-born writer and filmmaker, living with a disability, and medicating himself with obscene amounts of films, television, and amateur wordplay. Find out more at http://tomsbrain.2ya.com.

Posted on February 17, 2009, in Amanda Bynes, Mash Ups, Music, Posts. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

